Janelle Monáe To Receive 7th Annual Seeher Award At The 28th Annual Critics Choice Awards

Chelsea Handler Will Host the Awards Ceremony Airing Live on The CW

Sunday, January 15, 2023 From The Fairmont Century Plaza Hotel

(Los Angeles, CA – December 20, 2022) – The Critics Choice Association (CCA) announced today that artist and actor Janelle Monáe will receive the seventh annual SeeHer Award at the 28th Annual Critics Choice Awards. The honor will be presented to her at the star-studded Critics Choice Awards gala hosted by Chelsea Handler, which will broadcast LIVE on The CW on Sunday, January 15 from 7:00 – 10:00 pm ET (delayed PT – check local listings).The SeeHer Award honors an artist who advocates for gender equality, portrays characters with authenticity, defies stereotypes and pushes boundaries. SeeHer is the leading global movement for accurate portrayals of women and girls in media. A global collective of marketers, media organizations and industry influencers, SeeHer is committed to creating gender-bias-free advertising and media. Previous award recipients are Viola Davis (2017), Gal Gadot (2018), Claire Foy (2019), Kristen Bell (2020), Zendaya (2021), and Halle Berry (2022).Janelle Monáe is an eight-time Grammy®-nominated singer, songwriter, producer, performer and actor. Monáe currently stars in Netflix’s “Knives Out” sequel, “GLASS ONION: A Knives Out Mystery,” alongside Daniel Craig, Kate Hudson, Kathryn Hahn, and Leslie Odom Jr. She also starred in Lionsgate’s feature film “Antebellum,” Focus Feature’s biopic film “Harriet,” and Disney’s “Lady and the Tramp.” In 2020, she starred in the second installment of Amazon’s critically-acclaimed series, “Homecoming.” Other acting credits include the Academy Award®-nominated feature film “Hidden Figures” and Academy Award-winner “Moonlight.” In 2018, Monáe’s album “Dirty Computer” was nominated for two Grammy awards in the categories of Album of the Year and Best Music Video.As a humanitarian, Monáe was recently honored as the Suicide Prevention Advocate of the Year by The Trevor Project. Her position as a co-chair for When We All Vote, and her Fem the Future initiative, empowering other female filmmakers, inspires and empowers not only fellow creatives but society.Monáe published her first book in April 2022 titled “The Memory Librarian: And Other Stories of Dirty Computer” which was a collaborative effort between Monáe and other writers.It was previously announced that Hollywood icon Jeff Bridges will receive the Critics Choice Lifetime Achievement Award at the upcoming show.The Critics Choice Awards are bestowed annually by the Critics Choice Association to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. Historically, they are the most accurate predictor of Academy Award® nominations.The 28th annual Critics Choice Awards show will be executive-produced by Bob Bain Productions and Berlin Entertainment. The CCA is represented by Dan Black of Greenberg Traurig.Follow the 28th annual Critics Choice Awards on Twitter and Instagram @CriticsChoice and on Facebook/CriticsChoiceAwards. Join the conversation using #CriticsChoiceAwards.About the Critics Choice Association (CCA)The Critics Choice Association is the largest critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 600 media critics and entertainment journalists. It was established in 2019 with the formal merger of the Broadcast Film Critics Association and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association, recognizing the intersection between film, television, and streaming content. For more information, visit:www.CriticsChoice.com.About The CW:The CW Network, LLC is America’s fifth major broadcast network, offering 14 hours of primetime programming, Monday through Sunday. The CW is 75%-owned by Nexstar Media Group, Inc. For more information about the network and its programming, visit www.cwtv.com.About SeeHer:SeeHer is the leading global movement of media, marketing and entertainment leaders committed to the accurate depiction of women and girls in advertising and media. Launched in 2016 by the Association of National Advertisers (ANA) in partnership with The Female Quotient (The FQ), SeeHer is changing how women are portrayed in media. To help members benchmark success, SeeHer spearheaded the development of the Gender Equality Measure® (GEM®), the first research methodology that quantifies gender bias in ads and programming. GEM® proves that content accurately portraying women and girls dramatically increases both purchase intent and brand reputation. GEM® methodology quickly became the industry standard, winning the prestigious ESOMAR Research Effectiveness Award, leading to its global rollout in 2018. The movement has expanded its verticals to include sports (SeeHer In Sports), music (SeeHer Hear Her) and Health (SeeHer Health).To learn more, visit SeeHer.com and follow SeeHer on InstagramFacebookLinkedInTikTok and Twitter.CONTACTS:Andy Gelb / Julia RossenSLATE PR310-461-0111Andy@slate-pr.com / JuliaR@slate-pr.comJodi KarpThe CW Network818-977-5993jodi.karp@cwtv.com